Emergency Management


Emergency management is a means of responding to large-scale emergencies or disasters. The lead federal agency for such activities is the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The lead agency at the state level is the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM), in the Department of Public Safety. Forney's Emergency Management Division responds to issues on the local level.


Functions of Emergency Management include:

  • Capability assessment
  • Emergency Operation Center (EOC)
  • Emergency Operation Plan (EOP) development
  • Functional Annex development
  • Hazard analysis
  • Public education
  • State and federal reporting
  • Training

Emergency Management Model

There are four phases to the emergency management model:

  1. Mitigation
  2. Preparedness
  3. Response
  4. Recovery
Fire Marshall Image